The time I decided to finally take a break from all that had been getting to me and move on ahead, I thought about what I would post on a Monday. Social media is a strange place – we feel we are posting for ‘ourselves’ but every like, reaction or comment usually brings a smile to our face. Did someone speak about needing validation?

As some of you already know, I’ve been posting photo stories with every picture I post on social media, especially on Instagram, and more recently on one of my Facebook pages – @MasakaliBytes. Someday I’ll write about how this name came into being too. Even today I think about that discussion and it makes me smile because even after everything in the past (now), the thought of it uplifts me from within.

Here are two of the short stories I wrote describing my Monday feeling in descending order. Hope you share this Monday enthusiasm with me.

Experienced On Monday, March 5 and Posted On Monday, May 7: 

MasakaliBytes-Soul-Traveler-Mcleodganj-Lone-Trip-Dharamshala-Himachal-Pradesh

Sojourn in the Himalayas

A few Mondays ago (exact number 9), I walked one of my most memorable walks in a long time. I hadn’t felt that way, that free for a very long time. No, I wasn’t thinking of denouncing the world and moving on on a path to being a hermit, but the end result after 4.5 hours (approximately) of walking uphill while exploring the area, getting re-acquainted with the mountains, I knew what I wanted… Many more Mondays (and other days) of putting my feet up like this and just breathing in, breathing out and getting to know myself better.

What do you think? Should we make a sincere effort at being every color probably except blue in all the other Mondays to come? I love blue as much as any other, so I’ll make an effort even with that one. Let’s see how that goes. Never seen the sky complain. 😇

Experienced On Monday, February 26 and Posted The Same Day: 

Blue-City-Jodhpur-Rajasthan-MasakaliBytes

That Monday in many Mondays when I am in and around the color blue and feel good about it!

Finally walked in the gulleys of the blue houses in #Jodhpur today, the ones that give the city its name. Since I was on my own (which I didn’t mind till I got lost in the #bhoolbhulaiyya), I asked my cabbie to park the vehicle at a convenient spot from where I walked in order to explore. This #selfie hence became mandatory when realisation dawned on me that it was all blue, good and amazing all around. .
A nice elderly lady let me into her house and served water before leading me to the roof of her house to take a few nice pictures of the blue houses. It was so peaceful there. Some good pictures with a majestic backdrop, Mehrangarh Fort.

P.S. another adventure followed while I was still in those gulleys, but we’ll talk about that one in person, whenever that happens. [Update: I’ll write it now]

– Posting from Café Mehran, which is yet to be listed on @zomatoin but deserves a visit nonetheless. One can consider a meal or the most amazing cold coffee while exploring the fort. [Update: I believe Zomato is now in Jodhpur and that makes me happy for more than one reason]

Since you’ve stayed, watch how this gifted singer welcomed me amidst them, in their city, Jodhpur:

 

No Blues On Monday

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.